The Tennant Cup

15th - 16th June 2024

Play the oldest Open Amateur Strokeplay Trophy in the World, a 72-hole Scottish Golf Order of Merit WAGR competition hosted by Glasgow Golf Club, one of the 10 oldest golf clubs in the World.
This unique competition is played over 2 courses: the first 2 rounds on the Saturday over Gailes Links, a Final Open Championship qualifying course, with the final 36 holes on the Sunday over Killermont, the Club’s parkland course. Entry fee is £80.00. Click here for further details. 

First Prize £650

Runner up £550

3rd £425

4th £325

5th £250

6th £125


The Tennant Cup is open to all male golfers who are members of Scottish Golf
affiliated clubs or an affiliated club in their home country, are of amatuer status
as defined by R&A Rules Limited & in possession of a current WHS handicap
index of NOT MORE THAN 1. In the event of being oversubscribed the Club
reserves the right to reduce the number by ballot.

Entry to this year's event will open at 9.00am on 15th April 2024, entry will close on 7th June. 

Click here to view the full results from this year's event.




History of the Tennant Cup


The Tennant Cup is the oldest golfing trophy in the World for open competition among amateur golfers under medal conditions.

It was presented by Sir Charles Tennant in 1880, the year after he had been Captain of Glasgow Golf Club, and so it pre-dates the Amateur Championship by five years.

There are those who claim that the Leven Gold Medal, presented by the Standard Life Assurance Company in 1870, is the oldest competition, but for at least the first 40 years of its existence entry was confined to members of local clubs and was by invitation only. From the first time it was played for on Saturday March 27th 1880, the Tennant Cup has been open to all amateurs.

The Tennant Cup was originally played over two 10-hole rounds when Glasgow Golf Club’s home course was at Alexandra Park and it became an 18-hole competition when the course was extended in 1885.

Then in 1893, the year after the Club took out the original lease from the Duke of Portland, the competition was transferred to our Gailes course and was played there for 13 years before moving to Killermont in 1906 – just two years after the course was opened.

Less than a month before the 1927 Tennant Cup, it was decided to extend the competition to two rounds over Killermont and to restrict entry to players with a handicap of 3 or better. That first 36-hole event was won by William Tulloch of Cathkin Braes, who had been the last player to win it over 18 holes the previous year.

Then in 1976 it was decided to extend the competition to 72 holes, with two rounds at Gailes on the Saturday and two at Killermont the following day and that has been the format ever since.

The first 72-holes winner was Ian Hutcheon of Monifieth while Allan Brodie – a long-time member of Glasgow and the Club Captain in 2016 – became the only individual to win the Cup over both 36 and 72 holes when he won the Centenary Tennant Cup competition in 1980.

The Gallacher family from Bathgate also managed to win in both formats. Bernard, who subsequently became the professional at Wentworth for many years and Captain of the European Ryder Cup team, won the trophy in 1967 while his nephew, Stephen, took the Cup in 1995.

Marc Leishman, the Australian who has since gone on to enjoy a very successful professional career, won the Tennant Cup in the Killermont Centenary year of 2004.

Book a tee time